R.I.P. Gramp

My Grandfather’s funeral was the most tearful funeral I have ever attended. I remember bits and pieces of my own Father’s funeral, but I do not remember it in its entirety. I was in shock and completely numb.

Yesterday the tears flowed freely off and on throughout the visitation and service. However the gravesite ceremony in its self was absolutely gut wrenching and heart shattering. I’ve been to funerals with military services (21 gun salute/taps) before. It always seems like the worst part. This time it was indescribable.

I’m sobbing again just thinking of it and I’m still at loss for words to describe the feeling. Ironic that just a short time later I held in my hands the shell casings from the bullets that caused such a heart breaking response.

20131105-094053.jpg

Pictured: 4 shell casings from the 21 gun salute, the funeral program with a windmill similar to the one at the farm, a cookbook, and a hat Grandpa used to wear while working in the garden.

20131105-094213.jpg

Speaking of the garden….

20131105-094349.jpg

Here’s a picture of a picture I took of the garden. This is was only part of the garden.

20131105-094511.jpg

Pictured: 2 hats that I had made Grandpa for past Christmases and a scarf that somebody donated and was given to him by his local American Legion. My Mom and Aunt gave to me to re-donate to Scarves for Troops.

***My Grandpa served in Navy during the Korean War.

“Those who love deeply never grow old; they may die of old age, but they die young.” Sir Arthur Wing Pinero

 

3 Replies to “R.I.P. Gramp”

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

