“Baby It’s Cold” Slipper Tutorial

“BABY IT’S COLD” SLIPPER TUTORIAL

???????????????????????????????
A few days ago my feet were freezing so I did what any crafty gal would do. I started browsing the Internet looking for the perfect slipper pattern. One big problem though, I have huge feet. I wear a women’s size 10 1/2 shoe and most slipper patterns are made for women with smaller feet. So, I decided to wing it and come up with my own pattern.

???????????????????????????????

What I came up with is the perfect slipper for a woman with larger feet. These slippers cover most of the top of my foot and are some of the coziest slippers I have ever worn. They also work up really fast. My first pair took me about 3 hours to crochet.

Materials Needed:

I used an F crochet hook and about 200 yards of worsted weight yarn. The yarn I used is Red Heart Super Saver in BonBon Print. I also used a darning needle to weave in the ends.

Round 1: Make a magic loop Ch 1, and 7 sc into magic loop (7 sc) -gently pull the loose end of your magic loop so that your stitches form a circle.

Round 2: Ch 1, (counts as first hdc) 2 hdc in each sc of round 1 sl st in first hdc (14 hdc)

???????????????????????????????

Round 3: Ch 1, (counts as first hdc) * two hdc in first hdc, one hdc in second hdc, * rep from* around. sl st in first hdc (21 hdc)

Round 4: Ch 1, (counts as first hdc) *two hdc in first hdc, one hdc in next two hdc, * rep from* around. sl st in first hdc (28 hdc)

Round 5 – 10: Ch 1, (counts as first hdc – one hdc in same stitch) one hdc in each hdc around (28 hdc)

???????????????????????????????

Round 11: Ch 1, (counts as first hdc – one hdc in same stitch ) one hdc in the next 19 hdc. (20 hdc) Turn and work in rows.

Work back and forth on those 20sts for a total of 10 rows.

???????????????????????????????

When done with row 10 cut yarn leaving a long tail. Fold the end in half and stitch together to form a heel.

???????????????????????????????

SC around the foot opening decreasing one stitch on each side where the sides join the area over the top of your foot.

Capture

SC one more row around with no decreases.

Cut yarn and weave in ends.

Enjoy!

You may sell items that you make from this pattern but please don’t copy the text or photos as your own.

 

12 thoughts on ““Baby It’s Cold” Slipper Tutorial

  1. Your slippers look so cozy!! I need to learn to crochet. My daughter has large feet (size 9.5 and very wide) and I always have to modify sock patterns for her. I feel your pain! 🙂 Great solution!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

