Pegasus Farts Triangle

I have been super busy with end of the summer children’s activities and knitting my first lace shawl. This shawl took me a week and a half to create.
Pegasus Fart Triangle Shawl

I love how detailed the lace is although I sort of regret my choice of yarn. I think that the lace would look better in a solid color. So, I guess that I will just have to knit it again. ūüėČ

Duane Park Triangle

NOTES: The pattern is the Duane Park Triangle by Kirsten Kapur. I used Bare Stroll Fingering Sock Yarn by Knit Picks. I dyed the “Pegasus Fart Yarn” and the “White” yarn is undyed. The entire shawl was knit on US 7 (4.5 mm) knitting needles.

oops dye

Unfortunately, when I soaked my shawl before I blocked it the color bled. I thought that I had rinsed my hand dyed yarn sufficiently but apparently not. I guess this is a learning experience for me. It may have been a bit of an over stretch to use my first hand dyed yarn in such a detailed project. Especially since I paired it with an undyed yarn. Live and learn right?!?!

I started knitting a hat with more of my hand dyed yarn while this shawl was blocking. I noticed that the yarn from the hat did not have an odor to it like the shawl yarn did. I think that I may have¬†over saturated my first yarn with dye and I don’t think that I washed it out enough. It’s also possible that I didn’t heat set it enough. I solar baked it wrapped in plastic wrap inside a navy blue tote for about 4 hours on a nearly 100 degree day. I know the heat index was over 100 that day. I think a lot of yarn dying experiences are just trial and error but if anyone has any advice to add I’d love to hear it. I also plan to purchase one of the products that is suppose¬†to help with the color bleeding issues. I just have to do some research to figure out¬†which one I want to buy.

All in all I am trying not to be too frustrated about it. ¬†It’s yarn… they make more… and I’ve learned a lot… but I have a lot more to go.

I have not failed. I’ve just found 10000 ways that won’t work.” – Thomas A. Edison

 

15 Replies to “Pegasus Farts Triangle”

  1. I’m afraid I don’t have much yarn advice, but I do know what it’s like when things don’t turn out quite as you planned! Think how much you’ve learned – and when you get it juuussssttt right it will be oh so satisfying!

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

