Handmade Gifts, Hat

Toasty Heads

I haven’t been able to post a lot of finished objects lately because I have been saving them all to share in one post. 😉 I LOVE KNITTING HATS!!! They make such a quick and practical gift.

Barley Hatssee my Ravelry notes here

First up I have the Barley Hat Pattern by Tin Can Knits. I knit both of these hats with yarn that I dyed. The first hat was dyed with Greener Shades Acid dyes and the second hat was dyed with Earl Gray Tea. These two hats will be Christmas gifts for my parents.

Turn a Square Hats see my Ravelry notes here

The last four hats were also knit with my hand dyed yarn and the Turn a Square pattern by Jared Flood. I experimented with this pattern a little bit. The cuff on the first two hats (red tones) were knit with a K2P2 ribbing. On the third hat (orange and yellow) I used the tubular cast on provided in the pattern. I am not a fan of this method. The hat cuff is too snug. It is supposed to be adult sized but it is really snug on my head. So it’s going to my scrawny 11 year old son instead. For the fourth hat (tan) I knit a folded over cuff. It worked up really cute but it was a pain to pick up stitches to knit the edges together. If I was to use this method again I would use a provisional cast on to see if it helps with picking up stitch’s. I also “forgot” to add the increase stitches after the cuff on the fourth hat so it’s a bit snug. So, my 11 year old will get that hat as well. A boy has got to have options you know.

 

27 thoughts on “Toasty Heads”

  1. A new follow on Instagram! I need to get on board with knitting a hat! So far I have crocheted a ton of beanies for charity….I have some nice patterns to try with knitting…I never know what I am waiting for!! Lol!! Yours are just lovely, and a great post!

    Like

      1. Its such a nice pattern. I am definitely knitting some for my family for next winter as well. I think in worsted weight, or sports. Will be warm and a quick knit. 🙂
        Love yours, they are gorgeous and inspiring me to also knit the pattern.

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

