Christmas, Handmade Gifts, Hat

Reversible Lined Christmas Sockhead Hat

A few days ago when we were having some snowy weather. I decided that I wanted to knit a hat. Not just any hat would do. I wanted to use some of my hand dyed yarn and I wanted it to have double the thickness since I was using a fingering weight yarn. I settled on the Sock Head Hat pattern with modifications which are listed below.

Lined Sock Head

RAVELRY NOTES

MODIFICATIONS:

I knit the hat cuff according to the directions on size 2 circular needles. After finishing the last row of the cuff directions I knit in the front and back of every stitch. Then I went around and placed the first stitch of every “knit in front and back stitch” on a set of size 3 circular needles. These are the stitches that look like knit stitches. I slipped the second of those stitches (the ones that look like purl stitches) to the other end of the size 2 circular needle.

I then flipped the hat inside out so that I could start knitting the inside of the hat according to directions. These are the “purl” stitches on the size 2 needle.

When I finished knitting the inside of the hat I flipped the hat back to its original side before continuing to knit the stitches on the size 3 needles. I knit the outside of the hat about 1/4 of an inch longer than the inside. I also knit the outside of the hat on larger needles so that it knit up slightly larger than the inside.

When you are done you will have a hat that is lined and reversible.

To be continued…

Think matching scarf

 

19 thoughts on “Reversible Lined Christmas Sockhead Hat”

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

