Daughter Vertebrae Cardigan

It’s finally done. I finished the cardigan that I knit for my daughter with some yarn that both of my kids dyed with Kool – Aid.

daughter sweater

I ran out of white yarn on the last sleeve and instead of having me get more white yarn out my daughter asked for me to finish it in red. She’s got my quirky unbalanced taste and I couldn’t be more proud.

daughter sweater

I alternated yarns every two rows to tone down the in your face color from the Kool – Aid and I think that it gave it a nice effect. I am surprised at how evenly distributed the color is on the Kool – Aid yarn considering the fact that they just dumped it on the yarn

daughter sweater

Love it… I can’t wait to start knitting myself another sweater… Soon!!!

RAVELRY NOTES

  • PATTERN: Mama Vertebrae
  • STARTED: September 17th, 2016
  • COMPLETED: October 23rd, 2016
  • YARN: Kool – Aid yarns: Bare Stroll Fingering Sock Yarn – 75% Superwash Merino Wool, 25% Nylon and the white yarn: Bare Stroll Glimmer – 70% Fine Superwash Merino Wool, 25% Nylon, 5% Stellina
  • YARDAGE/WEIGHT: 874 yards
  • NEEDLES: 2.75 mm US #2
  • SIZE: B

It’s pretty amazing that you can turn a big mess into some cheerful yarn like this

kool aid dyeing

and then turn around and make actual garments that can be worn with it. I just wish that my camera would do a better job at photographing red tones especially on dark and gloomy days. ;(

14 thoughts on “Daughter Vertebrae Cardigan

  1. Beautiful! I love the cheery candy-colors you got with the Kool-Aid. Do you have to do anything to set it? I would expect it to wash out.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

