Daytona Day(s) 

Hey all! This last weekend was a bit exciting! After all of the illnesses that have gone through our home this month I was looking forward to some exciting entertainment. We were expected to get 13 inches of snow on Thursday so I snuggled in with some hot tea and yarn ready for a blizzard and racing. The 2017 NASCAR season started so YAY for the Daytona 500!!! This years races were exciting and nerve racking to watch. I’m so glad that nobody was seriously injured and one of my favorite drivers won!!! While watching all four races I managed to knit 2 hats and I also crocheted 2 skeins of yarn into a new afghan

The first hat will be donated to Scarves for Troops via Operation Gratitude in memory of my loved ones who have passed on. 

RAVELRY NOTES

RECIPIENT: Scarves for Troops 

PATTERN: Classic Cuffed Hat by Purl Soho

SIZE: Adult 

STARTED: Feb 24

COMPLETED: Feb 25

YARN: Lion Brand Heartland in the shade of Mount Rainier 

YARDAGE/WEIGHT: 55 yards 

NEEDLES: 3.75 mm/US 5 & 4.5 mm/US 7 

This second hat was knit in racing colors. I had planned to keep it for myself but it’s a little big on me so I’m going to put it in my sale pile. 

RAVELRY NOTES

RECIPIENT: craft sale

PATTERN: None 

SIZE: Adult Man

STARTED: Feb 26

COMPLETED: Feb 26

YARN: Knit Picks Stroll Sport Weight (held double) 

YARDAGE/WEIGHT: 208 yards

NEEDLES: 4.00 mm/US 6 & 5.00 mm/US 8


Hat Recipe 

* Cast on 84 sts with two black strands

  held together

* 2 x 2 rib for 12 rounds 

* Switch to size 8 needles

* 6 black

* 2 red

* 2 white

* 9 red

* 2 white

* 2 red

* 3 black 

* Decrease k12 k2tog, around 

* Knit around

* Repeat the last few rows until k4 – k2tog, continue every round

4 thoughts on “Daytona Day(s) 

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

