Socks

Ridge and Eyelet Socks 

I started this pair of socks way back in September but I lost interest in knitting them because they were being knit top down. I find that I prefer to knit socks from the toes up. I finally decided to just get on with it so I could use the needles for something else. These won’t count for my #boxosoxkal because I started them last year but they are done and I get to wear them right away. Oh and they are PURPLE 💜

RAVELRY NOTES

  • RECIPIENT: Me
  • PATTERN: Ridge & Eyelet Socks by Kathleen Taylor 
  • SIZE: Woman’s 10.5 
  • STARTED: September 3rd 2016
  • COMPLETED: March 11th 2017
  • YARN: Bare Stroll Fingering Sock Yarn
  • YARDAGE/WEIGHT: 70 grams
  • NEEDLES: 2.5 mm/US 1.5
  • MODIFICATIONS/NOTES: I knitted a tube and closed the toes with a rounded toe. I’m not a fan of knitting a rounded toe but I don’t mind the way it fits. I added an afterthought heel 
10 thoughts on “Ridge and Eyelet Socks ”

    1. Thank you. I personally prefer to knit socks with a true after thought heel. As crazy as it sounds I enjoy snipping that little stitch of yarn and raveling my stitches to start the heel. The after thought heel is great for self stripping yarns because you don’t interrupt your stripe sequence. I find that the traditional drop heel tends to be bulky on my scrawny ankles. I would recommend purchasing the book Sock Architecture by Lara Neel and trying out different heels until you find one that you like. I’m also going to add a link to a YouTube video on how to work the true afterthought heel. If you have anymore questions feel free to leave comment and ask again.

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

