WWI hat 

The other day I found a WWI hat pattern which had been re written into modern knitting terms. I thought that would be the perfect hat to donate to Scarves for Troops. The pattern was originally supposed to be knit with 100% wool and in certain colors so that they could be worn with a military uniform. The hats and scarves that are distributed through Scarves for Troops are used when off duty. I knit the larger sized hat and it fits my husband perfectly but it looks huge on the styrofoam head. 

RAVELRY NOTES

  • RECIPIENT: Scarves for Troops via Operation Gratitude 
  • PATTERN: WWI Skull Cap
  • SIZE: large
  • STARTED: April 10th
  • COMPLETED: April 17th
  • YARN: Plymouth Yarn Galloway in the shade Mint Heather
  • YARDAGE/WEIGHT: 151 yards
  • NEEDLES: 3.75 mm/US # 5 

It’s been rainy all week which has tremendously helped my allergies. I’ve been making good progress on a lot of projects which makes me incredibly happy. However, on a more sour note… our refrigerator decided to die last Wednesday. It almost ruined our holiday plans but my in laws were nice enough to share some of their leftovers with us. We are hoping to find a new refrigerator this weekend I just hope it doesn’t take a month to be delivered.  I’m really getting tired of eating out every meal but on a plus side I haven’t had too cook or do dishes which has contributed to my extra crafting time. 

11 thoughts on “WWI hat 

    1. Thank you. I believe that the hat was originally knit flat and then seemed up the side. This was knit entirely in the round.

      It always takes 2 – 3 weeks for our new appliances to be delivered.

      Like

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

