Box0Sox, KAL/CAL, Socks, The New York Collection

Grand Central Socks 

Hey All! I’ve had another productive crafting week. I’ve finished this pair of socks and I’ve knit four dishcloths. The weather hasn’t been the greatest but hey that’s spring in the Midwest.

I received some good news and not so great news since my last post about our refrigerator that decided to die on April 12th. Last weekend we were able to purchase a new kitchen appliance set (refrigerator, stove, and microwave) on sale at Lowes. The bad news is that the refrigerators that were on sale were on back order and won’t be delivered until May 17th!!! Part of that delay is because we live in a small populated area and they only deliver here one day a week. Over all we were really happy with the service that we got from Lowes! Yay for businesses that sponsor NASCAR drivers. 🚗

Anyways, back to these super cute socks that I knit. The designer is Mina Phillips of the Knitting Expat fame. She designed a series of sock patterns based on her experiences of moving to New York City. I just had to buy the New York Sock Pattern Club. The club includes 7 patterned socks that are released monthly starting on March first 2017. Plus a bonus pattern plain vanilla sock pattern. I paid $17.00 for 8 well written sock patterns which is a great deal when the patterns that I generally buy are priced in between $3.00 – $6.00. I plan to knit all of the socks to add to my #boxosoxkal2017. I have already started the second pair of socks in the series called The Avenues Socks 

RAVELRY NOTES

  • RECIPIENT: me
  • PATTERN: Grand Central Socks
  • SIZE: Women’s 11
  • STARTED: March 24th
  • COMPLETED: April 26th
  • YARN: Mountain Colors Twizzlefoot in the shade of Periwinkle
  • YARDAGE/WEIGHT: 292.5 yards/65 grams
  • NEEDLES: 2.25 mm/US # 1
  • MODIFICATIONS/NOTES: true afterthought heel

I hope that you all are having a wonderful week! ❤ Missy

14 thoughts on “Grand Central Socks ”

  1. Beautiful socks. What a fun project for you; I look forward to seeing all of your finished socks from this series.

    I am so sorry about the delay in getting your fridge. I cannot imagine being without one for that long. Does anyone have a small dorm style fridge you can borrow to at least keep some basics on hand? Many college students are likely on their way home for the summer with dorm fridges going into temporary storage.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. My in – laws have been kind enough to store all of our meat for us. They only live about five blocks away. My nephew has been bringing meat over on his way to play with my kids after school. I’ve been cooking a lot of easy meals that don’t create leftovers. It has not been fun but perhaps it will make me want to cook more from scratch when we do have food in the house again.

      Like

  2. I love the yarn you used…it’s so pretty 🙂 Purple is my favorite color and I have a lot of purple sock yarn. I love Mina’s podcast; however I am woefully behind. I’ve been trying to stay away from them because I get too tempted by all the yarn reviews 😀 I will go check out her sock patterns though cause she is the bomb at socks.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I really liked the texture of the first pattern. I have the toes done on the second pattern. I had better get in gear the third pattern will be released Monday. I’m sitting and knitting on her Spring into Summer shawl right now.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. That is no fun, having to wait that long for a refrigerator. I do not know what I would do or how I would cope. You are so much better than me.
    Lovely socks, and I hope the Spring weather turns warmer and into summer soon. 🙂 Have a good week and happy crafting.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

