Allergies and Cozy Knits 

I’ve been really out of my normal self the last few weeks. My allergies have been at an all time high. I have been exhausted and congested. I’ve been drinking too much caffeine by day and suffering from insomnia at night. To make up for the lack of sleep I have been napping in the mornings after taking my kids to school. I finally decided enough is enough and cut out caffeine and naps for a couple of days so I could get myself back on the same sleeping schedule as the rest of the family. That helped my productivity immensely but unfortunately hasn’t taken care of my allergies. The medicine that works for me dries my nose out so badly that it starts to bleed. I find myself frustrated and thinking about burning down every living green thing in my community.

PRISON ORANGE IS NOT MY COLOR 

PRISON ORANGE IS NOT MY COLOR 

PRISON ORANGE IS NOT MY COLOR 


I decided to cheer up my grumpy, allergy stricken mood with a new project for myself.

Over the last few months I’ve seen several shawl patterns that I’ve really wanted to try. One was a brioche shawl, one was a faded shawl, and the other was a marled shawl. All three shawls were humongous in size but I also wanted something unique.

So I grabbed six similar skeins of yarn that I had previously dyed with other projects in mind but had never used. Then I dyed that hot pink yarn for an unexpected pop of color. I casted on 177  stitches with two strands of yarn held together on US size 11 knitting needles and then I started knitting a fisherman’s ribbed shanklet (Shawl/Blanket)! I absolutely love how soft and squishy it’s working up. It will be nice and cozy when the weather turns this fall.

18 thoughts on “Allergies and Cozy Knits 

  1. These colors are lovely. Good luck with the allergies. I don’t have any bad reactions but as I get older, my nose runs more. Like you needed to know that. Anyway, you are such a faithful follower of my blog & I thank you for that!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love those colors and it looks like it will be so soft and cozy once the weather turns again…or if you live in a climate like mine where no matter how hot it is during the afternoon, it’s cool in the evening and morning 🙂 Did you change up your blog format? It looks different to me 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I thought so! I really like it 🙂 I also forgot to say that I hope your allergies get better soon. My hubby is going through them pretty bad right now as well. I take medicine every morning and it seems to be helping me. I don’t know if you’ve ever tried a Neti Pot; however my husband swears by it! It gives me the heebie jeebies to put water up my nose, but he thinks it feels good.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t wait to see the finished shawl. It looks super soft and I love the colors!
    Darn allergies!!! Mine aren’t too bad right now. I have windows open today. As you know, that’s rare for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

