Foot Injury, LETTERS HOME

I’ve turned into a book worm

I’m slowly improving. My foot is feeling much better although I still can’t walk on it without the boot on. The pain in my wrist and hand comes and goes. I’ve been able to knit some but not nearly what I’d like too. I’m pretty sure that the source of my pain is a pinched nerve in my back. I’ve been icing it and using heating pads. I’ve also been following along with a YouTube video with stretches for tight muscles in your back. It’s helping! 

I’ve also spent a lot of time reading. I’ve finished at least five books since hurting my foot on July 8th. 

——
Knitting for Health and Wellness
How to knit a flexible mind & more…

I have to admit that I was a bandwagon jumper with this book. A lot of knitters were posting about it on instagram and I was curious. I was curious to see if the book had anything about knitting through grief to improve your mental health. There was one small paragraph on page 161. That’s it one paragraph!!! However, the book touched on stress and anxiety several times. It also talked about ways that introverted people an use knitting as a self soothing mechanism in social settings. 

You can see the list of books that I’ve read on Missy’s Crafty Books. The site is still a work in progress . I’m trying to add books off of my Goodreads account for the past several years. 

10 thoughts on “I’ve turned into a book worm”

  1. It sounds like you are handling your injury with patience and the right attitude. I, too, spent a lot of time reading books early on in my recovery. I think the repetition of knitting or crocheting is soothing and comforting, the reasons it may work to ease stress and anxiety and help one to cope. Hang in there. You are doing well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you are doing the right things to help you get past this injury. Reading is a good distraction. I especially like to read novels. I get caught up in the story and forget everything else, even sleep which is not so good. 😊 Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like you have a handle on the pain, but I sure hope you are healed fully soon. I know how frustrating it is to be out of commission while healing. That book sounds interesting.

    Like

  4. Glad you are taking it easy and resting your foot as much as is possible. Soon you will be up and about again. Reading is so nice. I read online mainly now, but when I get my hands on a book as well, it is always pleasant and gets carried around with me until I am done.
    Take care. Hugs. 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

