Grieving Loved Ones

17 years

My father passed away 17 years ago today in a tragic motorcycle accident. Just yesterday I was thinking that he’s been gone almost half of my life. He’s been gone all of my children’s lives. There are so many things that I’d like to say but there really aren’t enough words in the English language to measure my loss. I find myself often wondering what his opinion would be. I wonder what kind of grandfather he would have been. I remember him telling me that he was going to buy my first kid a Harley for its first birthday. The mother in me cringes at that idea.  Mostly I feel cheated out of that part of my life. I feel like I’ve been cheated out of an adult relationship with my father.

 

Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers

12 thoughts on “17 years”

  1. There is a hole in your life, isn’t there? I am so sorry that you lost your dad at such an early age –losing a parent is not easy and when they are young and it is unexpected it really makes it even more difficult I think. Thinking of you and hoping that each day brings a new sweet memory of your dad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So very sad, those days as markers are always hard. And those losses are something we never get over. The best we can do is hold their memory tight and share that with your children. God’s love be with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Missy, how we share that loss!! I have thought about him so much in the last couple of weeks! I don’t think there is ever a day whenI don’t think of him but even more in these days! I think he would have been an awesome grandfather.. I know he would have loved being a grandfather because he loved being your dad! He was so proud of you! We will always miss him but I try to think of th e many memories and the blessings he brought to my life, such as you. As always you and your family are in my prayers!💕

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I ‘be been thinking about your Dad too. He would be very proud of you & he would love your kids more than you could imagine. Yes you were robbed of many things but never of his love. He loved you more than life itself & that can ever be robbed away from you. Grampa Limmer (my Dad) has been gone 37 years. I was 27 & yes – sometimes I feel robbed too. It seems very unfair and hard to understand and I sympathize with you. I try to fill my heart with great memories of your Dad and mine too. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Have a HAPPY SNAPPY DAY!!!

